Three Pacific Countries and Auckland the capital of the Pacific?

Mattia Barbera
Auckland Council Research, Investigations and Monitoring Unit RIMU
Publication date:
This report analyses economic and social data from three Pacific Island Countries (Cook Islands, Samoa and Tonga). It highlights their economic strategies as well as the main challenges they face. Particular attention is given to the analysis of their relationship with New Zealand and especially Auckland. In some instances, the population originating from these islands residing in Auckland is so numerous that Auckland could be seen as the de facto capital of these countries.The paper also focuses on the initiatives of the New Zealand Government to support Pacific Islanders living in New Zealand, mainly through the Ministry for the Pacific Island Affairs and NZ Aid.
Last updated: 2008-11-03