Auckland Council governance framework review

Gareth Stiven
Auckland Council
Publication date:
Local boards:
Albert-Eden, Devonport-Takapuna, Franklin, Great Barrier, Henderson-Massey, Hibiscus and Bays, Howick, Kaipātiki, Māngere-Ōtāhuhu, Manurewa, Maungakiekie-Tāmaki, Ōrākei , Ōtara-Papatoetoe, Papakura, Puketāpapa , Rodney, Upper Harbour, Waiheke, Waitākere Ranges, Waitematā, Whau

Over the last six years Auckland Council (both governors and the organisation) have put considerable effort into developing policies, processes, protocols and organisational support structures to put shared governance into practice. The Local Government (Auckland Council) Act 2009 (LGACA) did not provide prescription but its strong principles have guided this work.

This review reflects on what has been set up over the last six years and considers whether this is enabling the governance model to work optimally in terms of meeting the aim of the 2010 reforms.

Last updated: 2016-12-21